A Random Blurb

A couple things:

1. I wonder if Canadian elections will ever be as exciting as this year’s US election. I was actually of age to vote this year, and did so through mail. Made my mark. Woot woot. TBH I’m not huge into politics, but I do stay informed from time to time. It’s just not as riled up in Canada for some reason, I guess either people are very happy for what they have or people are simply misinformed/uninterested. It’s really unfortunate, but that’s what our country has become..

2. Reddit is awesome. It’s such a huge, supportive community, but at the same time, a great place to let go of any stress and laugh my head off. Can’t believe I’ve been missing out on it for so long (I’ve been a long time user on various community forums, all fairly small).

3. Freshbooks is an amazing place to work. I’ve never been around so many friendly coworkers, attending fun events, and at the same time, also learning a ton of cool+interesting things on the dev side.

Here’s us for Halloween (I think at least half the office participated):

Yup, the company takes Halloween pretty seriously. What I really like about Freshbooks is that everyone is invited to everything. If someone’s having a birthday dinner, the whole company is invited (we took over a Korean restaurant a few weeks ago, there were 40 of us). We have movie nights weekly and poker nights biweekly.

Oh, and as a Freshbooks employee, you will definitely improve your ping pong skills. Think I spent an hour and a half playing it last Friday..

4. Watched a couple movies this week.

Transamerica – Watched for Felicity Huffman. Omg. Her role in this movie is just soOooo very different from her role in Desperate Housewives. I dunno why they made her tone of voice be so expressionless in this movie, it bothered me a little bit, but I guess it was just the character they were trying to achieve. I really enjoyed the story line and character development. The movie is mostly about self discovery, and I really liked that the two main characters basically travelled the country while talking about life, running into random situations, dealing with their car getting stolen, them meeting the parents who disapprove of his gender change. Felicity did a great job :)

Alvin & the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked – Rated very low on Imdb, I really enjoyed the movie. Had no expectations going in. I thought it was pretty cute to include a crazy woman on the island, along with Simon’s personality change. Had some great character development (the whole stuck on an island situation seems to be a personality changer — or it just makes people go crazy). Had a little trouble making out the words whenever they broke into song (non-covers), but overall they did a great job with the movie.

