Jobmine.

Is the reason I’m up at 7am. Well, I believe this would be called an all nighter. I have no idea why the heck I’m doing it when I’m midway into this school term, but the good thing is that I can sleep in til around 1130 on Monday. So.. it’s not as bad as it seems.

I will now rant about our school Job matching system for about 4 minutes (until it opens up). Yes, Jobmine ‘closes’ from 12 midnight to 7 am. So it’s not a 24/7 service. They likely do this to make it fair for everyone, although it is considered very convenient because the Jobmine servers always get overloaded for the first job posting. This was especially apparent yesterday afternoon and night time… And it is the main reason I am up at this hour.

So Jobmine got a recent upgrade apparently. The funny thing is that they still don’t support PDF (facepalm). Instead, they direct you to an HTML helper made by a student, which is basically a form to HTML convert tool for people that are either 1. frustrated at strange character encoding or 2. can’t/don’t want to write an HTML resume.

Other issues include: terrible interface. If you want to add a job to your Short List, you cannot do anything else on that page while waiting for Jobmine’s slow servers to add 1 entry to your short list. Same thing goes for loading a job description.

edit:

Early morning Jobmine was so worth it. For the tradeoff of sleep? Hmm…

